TORONTO - Liberal Dave Levac is keeping his job as Speaker of the Ontario legislature, playing referee to the province's elected politicians.

He beat out colleague Shafiq Qaadri, Conservative Rick Nicholls and New Democrats Paul Miller and Cheri DiNovo.

Levac was chosen after most of the freshly-elected members of provincial parliament were sworn in today.

The Progressive Conservative caucus also held a vote to select an interim leader.

Jim Wilson -- a former cabinet minister -- will remain in the post until a new leader is elected by party members.

Former leader Tim Hudak stepped down today after leading the party into two election defeats.

The legislature will re-open tomorrow with a speech from the throne.