The City of Kitchener, and several surrounding counties and townships, have implemented fire bans.

That means all open air fires, including fire pits and chimneys, are prohibited. The ban remains in effect until the affected areas receive significant rainfall.

“Given the ground cover is very, very dry, even the smallest spark or ember can ignite quickly,” says Kitchener Fire Chief Tim Beckett. “This is being enforced for public safety reasons.”

There are currently fire bans in: Kitchener, Wellington County, Perth County, Woolwich, Wellesley, Wilmot and North Dumfries.

There are currently no fire bans in Waterloo or Cambridge. However in Waterloo, you’re still prohibited from having an open air fire in your backyard.

The Grand River Conservation Authority has also implemented a fire ban at some of its campsites including Conestoga Lake, Elora Gorge, Guelph Lake and Rockwood.